John Durkan Memorial Chase Date is 8th December 2019


Type: Grade 1 steeplechase race (2½ miles, 14 fences)


Trial race for the Cheltenham Festival

Page Contents

General Race Info


Runners & Tips


Stats & Trends

Past Winners

John Durkan Memorial Chase General Info

Run this time on Sunday December 8th, the John Durkan Chase 2019 will take place at Punchestown over 2½ miles. There are fourteen fences to jump for these Grade 1 types and with over €50,000 going to the winner, the race once again will prove to be an important event not just in the Irish jumps calendar but also in regards to Cheltenham Festival 2019 prep.

Don Cossack, the 2016 Cheltenham Gold Cup winner, as well as 2005 scorer Kicking King each managed to win this race en route to Blue Riband victory around Prestbury Park.

John Durkan Memorial Chase 2019 Tips 

It’ll be interesting to see which way the bookmakers go when John Durkan Chase betting opens up as, by our reckoning at least, the most interesting five horses in the early entries are all trained by the master Willie Mullins.

Solid enough candidates are Chacun Pour Soi and Un De Sceaux, but whether they have the class to beat the very best in this division is open to question. On ratings it goes without saying that Min is top dog here, but at the likely odds he’d represent no value whatsoever and so we rather hope he’ll be rerouted elsewhere.

That leaves the prospect of Al Boum Photo and Douvan taking centre stage. The former is younger and has more potential in theory, but as the reigning Cheltenham Gold Cup champ he too would be no real price and he may yet be kept for more suitable three-mile chases.

Douvan then could be the one in the hope that his opening price is OK and he could be the one ante post. He’s nine now and has not been without his problems, but he scored easily on his comeback run over this trip which could now be his optimum.

John Durkan Chase 2019 Ante Post Bet: DOUVAN

John Durkan Memorial Chase Stats & Trends

Despite Willie Mullins’ recent domination of Irish jumps racing, he does not hold the record for winners in this event and in fact those successfully training John Durkan Chase runners have been well spread out in recent times.

Every winner this century has been aged 6-9, in fact 17 of the 19 have been aged 6-8. Given their relatively poor performance when going up or down in trip for the Gold Cup or Champion Chase, it usually pays to stick with specialist 2½-mile horses and it may be worth siding with such types in the John Durkan Chase 2019.

12 of the last 19 favourites have won this event at an average SP of only 2/1 so when it comes to the John Durkan Chase betting, don’t look too far down the bookies’ list.

John Durkan Chase Betting 2019

We’ll have John Durkan Chase tips for you right here, but to take maximum advantage you should keep an eye on any bookmaker offers too, with Best Odds Guaranteed and Non-Runner No Bet deals bound to be plentiful.

The bigger firms often come into their own when it comes to the major races, so watch for Ladbrokes and William Hill offering value in order to compete with each other over this race, something which is terrific for punters.

Best Horse Racing Betting Sites 2019

New customers only, place a £10 bet on any Sportsbook market - min stake £10 at odds of at least 1.5 (1/2) — and we’ll give you £30 in free bets. Only deposits made using Cards or Paypal will qualify for this promotion. Free bets are valid for 30 days and must be used on a Sportsbook market. Free bets will be awarded after the qualifying bet has been settled. T&Cs apply. Paddy's Rewards Club: Get a free £10 bet when you place 5x bets of £10+. T&Cs apply.

New online customers only, min £10/€10 stake, win only, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 3 X £10/€10, 30 day expiry, free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply.

New customers only. Min deposit £5 , 1x settled bet requirement to release Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credit stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.

18+ New UK+IRE customers. Paypal and certain deposit types and bet types excluded. Min £5 bet within 14 days of account reg at min odds 1/2 = 4 x £5 free bets. Free bets valid for 4 days on sports, stake not returned, restrictions apply. T&Cs apply. 

18+. UK+IRE only. T&Cs apply.

New UK & Ireland Customers Only. Min Deposit: £/€10. 1 x wagering at odds of 1.75+ to unlock Free Bet. Debit Card & PayPal deposits only. Additional Terms Apply


New UK & NI customers only. 18+. Promo period from 09:00 07/03/19 until 17:30 12/03/19. Register using the promo code CHELT40a and place first bet of at least £10 (odds evens or greater) on any Day 1 Cheltenham race. (Race Winner or E/W market only). £20 Free Bet credited before 12pm 13/03/19 and a £10 Free Bet before 12pm on 14/03/19 & 15/03/19. Free Bets expire after 7 days. E-Wallet & Prepaid Card restrictions apply. SMS validation may be required. Full T&Cs Apply. 

New customers only. Deposit £10 min and claim in ‘my offers' 1x100% mobile in-play profit boost. Max stake £10. Max extra winnings £100. Valid for 30 days. Skrill/Neteller deposits do not qualify. 18+ Full T&Cs apply.

New customers only. Min Deposit £10. Deposit & bonus amount must be wagered 6 times (min odds 4/5) prior to withdrawing bonus funds and any winnings. Wins from real money bets withdrawable at any time. Bonus on sports betting only.T&Cs apply.

New customer offer. Max £10. Paid in Cash. 18+. UK+IRE only. T&Cs apply.

Past John Durkan Memorial Chase Winners

Sent off the strong even-money favourite, Min made no mistake for Ruby Walsh and Willie Mullins in the 2018 renewal of this race when taking care of four rivals, every runner finishing in perfect order in terms of SP meaning the John Durkan Chase betting was spot-on and punters were the true winners.

Some top names have taken this event in the past, here are all of the winners since 2010 along with how they did at the following Cheltenham Festival. 

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer Festival Performance
2018 Min 7 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins 5th in Champion Chase
2017 Sizing John 7 Robbie Power Jessica Harrington Did not race
2016 Djakadam 7 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins 4th in Gold Cup
2015 Djakadam 6 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins 2nd in Gold Cup
2014 Don Cossack 7 Brian O’Connell Gordon Elliott 3rd in Ryanair Chase
2013 Arvika Ligeonniere 8 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins Pulled-up in Champion Chase
2012 Flemenstar 7 Andrew Lynch Peter Casey Did not race
2011 Rubi Light 6 Andrew Lynch Robert Hennessey 5th in Ryanair Chase
2010 Tranquil Sea 8 Andrew McNamara Edward O’Grady Did not race